Document Check-in/Checkout - FAQ

Print this Topic  Previous Topic Home Topic Next Topic
You are here: Document Check-in/Checkout >Document Check-in/Checkout - FAQ
Expand All   Collapse All

What is the document check-in/checkout feature?

The check-in/checkout feature lets you block others users of the Globodox DB from trying to edit a document that you are currently editing. When this feature has been enabled then whenever you want to modify a document, you must first check it out. When you checkout a document, then to all other users that document will appear as a checked out document. Once you have checked out a document, then no other user can checkout (and therefore modify) that document, until you have checked it back in. While a document has been checked out, other users can still view the document as it was when it was last checked in.

Why is it useful?

The document check-in/checkout feature is useful in a multi-user scenario where multiple users will be working with the same Globodox DB. It ensures that while a document is being modified by one user, no other user can modify it. Also while a document has been checked out, other users can still view the document as it was at the time it was last checked in. Therefore you can take as much time as you need for editing the document without worrying about some other user modifying the document in the mean time or you blocking other authorized users from viewing a copy of the document for a long time.

For what file types does the check-in/checkout feature work?

The check-in/checkout feature works for any file type.

How can I enable the check-in/checkout feature while creating a new Globodox DB?

The check-in/checkout feature is enabled by default when you create a new Globodox DB.

How do I check-in a new document?

If the check-in/checkout feature is enabled, a document is automatically checked in as soon as it is added.

How do I checkout a document?

You can only checkout a document if it is in the checked in state (i.e. if it has not already been checked out by another user).

 

To checkout a document, select that document in the List View pane and then click the Checkout option of the Home tab. You can also right click the document and select the Checkout option.

How do I open a checked out document for editing?

To open a checked out document for modifications select that document in the List View pane and click on either of the two Edit options in the Open drop down of the Home tab.

Can I cancel a checkout?

To cancel a checkout, select that document in the List View pane and click the Check-in drop down and then click Cancel Checkout option of the Home tab.

 

What happens when I checkout a document?

When you checkout a document it is first marked as checked out in the Globodox DB. Then a copy of the document is placed in your Checkout folder (unless you have used the Checkout to... option to checkout the file). If you have used the Checkout to... option to checkout the file, then a copy of the document will be placed in the folder you have selected.

 

If the document you are checking out is encrypted then Globodox will create a decrypted copy of the document and then place that copy in your checkout folder (or any other selected folder).

How do I check-in a previously checked out document?

To check-in a previously checked out document...

 

If you had checked out the document to your default checkout folder and if the document is still located in that folder then...

Click the Check-in button of the Home tab.

 

If you had checked out the document to some other folder (and not your default checkout folder) then...

Click the Check-in drop down arrow and select the Check-in from... option. This will bring up the Browse Folder window. Navigate to the folder and select the document to Check it in.

 

What happens when I check in a previously checked out document?

When you check-in a previously checked out document, then...

1.If document encryption is enabled then a encrypted copy of the document being checked in, will be created.
2.If document versioning is enabled then the version number of the document is incremented by one. The existing version of the document is stored as a old version.
3.The encrypted copy of the document with the incremented version number is checked in.
4.If the document is being checked in from the Checkout folder then the document is automatically deleted from the Checkout folder, after it has been checked in.

What if I used the Open options of the Home tab to view a document that is in the checked out state?

If you use any of the Open options of the Home tab to try and view a document which is in the checked out state, then Globodox will open the last checked-in copy of the document for viewing. This will happen even if the user trying to view the document is the same as the user who has checked out that document.

Can I change the path of the Checkout folder?

Yes, a  user can set his/her Checkout folder by clicking the Checkout drop down arrow and selecting the Checkout to... option of Home tab. This will launch the Set Checkout Folder window. Now, specify the location of the new checkout folder

 

What about the security of the document when it has been checked out?

When a document is checked out it is placed in the Checkout folder. The security of the document copy in the Checkout folder is the responsibility of the user who checked out the document. The copy of the document in the Globodox DB is still protected by Globodox. Therefore care must be taken when selecting a Checkout folder. Ideally a local folder on the user's machine should be set as the user's Checkout folder. However if the user is likely to logon to Globodox from different machines then a network accessible folder can be chosen as the user's Checkout folder. Windows security can be used to prevent unauthorized access to documents in the Checkout folder.

What if a user who checked out a document is no more available?

Only the user who checked out a document can check it back in. The superadmin can however use the Cancel checkout option to cancel the checkout if the user who checked out a document is no more available.

 


Related Topics

Checkout a document
Check-in a Checked out document

 

 


Page URL: http://www.itaz.com/globodox/help/index.htm?document_check_in_checkout_faq.htm